Mental health support network for PWWP

Mental health illness support network for People working with people

A poem by a followere!

on January 7, 2013

Hello there,

 
I saw a link saying that you were interested in poetry related to mental health issues. I suffer from Borderline Personality Disorder and I wrote this poem as an exploration of my illness and my feelings around my social behaviours, relationships and appearances as well as the stigma that appears to surround them (the Siren is, of course, a metaphor). It goes like this:
 
A Siren’s Lament
 
If only we could steal a moment, hide a hyphen,
Whisper lullabies of fluid passion and empty lust as
Tears on the slick petals of a thorn’d rose;
Blood on a wedding dress: something borrowed and something black.
Repent and repeat, my love, repent and repeat…
Waves crash deceit in the grieving eyes of
A Spinster.
By sarah.
Leave a Reply

